HotSpot ATL Featured Video

Since 2007 XXL Magazine has introduced a new class of Freshman MCs to the masses via their annual cover.  Initially dubbed, “Leaders of the New School,” the first class featured Lupe Fiasco, Saigon, Lil Boosie, Rich Boy, Gorilla Zoe, Young Dro, Papoose, Joell Ortiz, Crooked I and Plies. 

While there is always debate about who qualifies as a true freshman, the 2013 class appears to be just as eclectic with the range going from Brooklyn’s Joey Bada$$ to Atlanta’s Trinidad James.

Familiarize yourselves with the 2013 freshman in our gallery of photos and music videos  and tell us if you think they earned their spot.

Schoolboy Q

Trinidad Jame$

Joey Bada$$



Action Bronson

Kirko Bangz

Travi$ Scott

Dizzy Wright – 10 Spot People’s Champion Winner

Angel Haze

Chief Keef – “The 11th Freshman”

XXL Magazine Reveals 2013 Freshman Class Cover  was originally published on